Fáilte chuig gaa.ie - suíomh oifigiúil CLG
Aaron Gillane scored 1-6 for Limerick against Carlow.
Aaron Gillane scored 1-6 for Limerick against Carlow.

Gillane inspires Limerick against Carlow

All Ireland SHC Preliminary Quarter-Final


By Declan Rooney at Netwatch Cullen Park

Tom Morrissey and Peter Casey finished off the job in the second-half, but the brilliance of Aaron Gillane before the interval saw Limerick sweep past Carlow to reach the last eight of the All-Ireland hurling championship.

After they had secured promotion into next summer’s Leinster Championship by winning last weekend’s Joe McDonagh Cup, Carlow, despite a bright start, fell away as Gillane and Graeme Mulcahy netted to add to Kyle Hayes’s early strike.

It only took Limerick 30 seconds to take the lead when William O’Donoghue sent Hayes in on goal and he buried his low shot past Brian Treacy, but following that early boost there as no immediate kick from Kiely’s side.

Instead it was the home team who began to settle and with John Michel Nolan, Paul Cody and Edward Byrne on top in the half-forward line the pulled within two points with Denis Murphy and Byrne on target.

But while Limerick were struggling, Carlow were unable to make the most of their dominance and reeled off six wides by the 20thminute.

Tom Morrissey hit a great score for Limerick in the 12thminute, which he had to fight very hard for, but it was a key score for his side as they then began to show their usual free-flowing hurling.

Mulcahy and Gearoid Hegarty hit points for the Munster outfit, and after 19 minutes their second goal arrived when Gillane’s quick pass sent Mulcahy in on goal and he finished at the second attempt, following a fine Brian Tracey save.

Goal number three came a minute later, this time Hegarty picked out Gillane with a pin-point pass, and the Patrickswell man arrowed his shot into the top corner from a tight angle.

That goal put Limerick 3-3 to 0-3 ahead and they tagged on six points before the break, but they also should have punished their hosts a bit more as their 10 first-half wides shows.

Limerick continued to dominate after the restart and despite early points from John Michael Nolan and Murphy, the Munster men soon took over again. Tom Morrissey was outstanding for Limerick and he tagged on three points in the second period to bring his tally to five, while Diarmuid Byrnes crept forward and hit the fourth goal for his side in the 55thminute.

Peter Casey made a real impact off the bench and hit three points from play, while it was his goal with nine minutes remaining that signed off this dominant Limerick performance.

Scorers for Limerick: Aaron Gillane 1-6 (2fs), Peter Casey 1-3, Tom Morrissey 0-5, Graeme Mulcahy 1-1, Diarmuid Byrnes 1-1 (1’65), Kyle Hayes 1-0, Gearoid Hegarty 0-2, Cian Lynch 0-1, Barry Nash 0-1, Seamus Flanagan 0-1, Darragh O’Donovan 0-1, 

Scorers for Carlow: Denis Murphy 0-4 (3fs, 1’65), Peter Abbey 0-2, John Michael Nolan 0-2, Edward Byrne 0-1, Jack Kavanagh 0-1, Diamuid Byrne 0-1 (f), Chris Nolan 0-1, Seamus Murphy 0-1.

CARLOW: Brian Tracey; Dion Wall, Paul Doyle, Michael Doyle; Kevin McDonald, David English, Richard Coady; Jack Kavanagh, Diarmuid Byrne (c); John Michael Nolan, Paul Coady, Edward Byrne; James Doyle, Denis Murphy, Chris Nolan.

Subs: Seamus Murphy for Denis Murphy (48), Conor Foley for Paul Coady (53), Ross Smithers for Chris Nolan (56), Eoin Redmond for Michael Doyle (57), Peter Abbey for Edward Byrne (63).

LIMERICK: Nicky Quaid; Mike Casey, Richie McCarthy, Richie English; Diarmaid Byrnes, Declan Hannon, Dan Morrissey; William O’Donoghue, Cian Lynch; Gearoid Hegarty, Kyle Hayes, Tom Morrissey; Aaron Gillane, Seamus Flanagan, Graeme Mulcahy.

Subs: Peter Casey for Kyle Hayes (36), Barry Nash for Graeme Mulcahy (36), Darragh O’Donovan for Cian Lynch (46), Sean Finn for Richie English (53), Seamus Hickey for Declan Hannon (58).

REFEREE: John Keenan (Wicklow).

Official Sponsors of the GAA Football All-Ireland Championship

Official Sponsors of the GAA Hurling All-Ireland Championship

Live Competitions